Moran/Blumenthal Legislation

Senators Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) will introduce bi-partisan legislation in the U.S. Senate this afternoon (Tuesday, April 9, 2013) that will prohibit control tower closures.

Below is the list of current co-sponsors of the Moran/Blumenthal legislation.

If one or both of your U.S. Senators are NOT on the co-sponsor list below, please contact their offices in Washington right away and urge them to co-sponsor the Moran/Blumenthal legislation to keep these towers open and continue the air traffic safety benefits that towers provide the traveling public.  Senate staff should contact Tom Bush in Sen. Moran’s office (202/224-6521) if they would like to co-sponsor the legislation or if they have any questions.  Below the list of co-sponsors is the web link to access phone numbers for your Senate offices. Time is of the essence, so phone calls or emails are the best way to communicate.

Also, please urge your local aviation tenants, pilots, business/community leaders, and controllers to contact your Senate offices as well. Getting folks that care about your tower making more noise on Capitol Hill is a very important part of this ongoing fight!

Note: These calls and emails should come from ALL airports with FAA contract towers, including the 102 facilities that will remain open beyond the new tower closure date of June 15. As we mentioned before, the President’s FY ’14 budget will be released later this week and we fully expect that the Administration will request zero funding for any contract towers.

If one or both of U.S. Senators is a co-sponsor already, please email and thank them for their support.

Co-Sponsors of the Senate Moran/Blumenthal Legislation (as of 4/23/2013)


John Boozman (AR)

Charles Grassley (IA)

Michael Crapo (ID)

Jim Risch (ID)

Mark Kirk (IL)

Marco Rubio (FL)

Jerry Moran (KS)

Pat Roberts (KS)

Mitch McConnell (KY)

David Vitter (LA)

Mike Johanns (NE)

Kelly Ayotte (NH)

Roy Blunt (MO)

Roger Wicker (MS)

James Inhofe (OK)



Mark Pryor (AR)

Richard Blumenthal (CT)

Christopher Murphy (CT)

Bill Nelson (FL)

Brian Schatz (HI)

Mary Landrieu (LA)

Tom Udall (NM)

Debbie Stabenow (MI)

Amy Klobuchar (MN)

Al Franken (MN)

Jeanne Shaheen (NH)

Jeff Merkley (OR)

Ron Wyden (OR)

Bob Casey (PA)

Tim Kaine (VA)

Mark Warner (VA)

Maria Cantwell (WA)

Joe Manchin (WV)

One response

  1. James L. Bailey

    Thankyou gentlemen and ladies on behalf of all the Air Traffic Controllers who are in danger of losing our jobs. You are the front line, and we truly appreciate your help in this matter.